skip navigation
Home All Articles More Extended Footer Search Results

Two No. 1-ranked wrestlers fall

03/03/2012, 2:51pm CST
By Star Tribune staff reports

Saturday afternoon’s Class 3A state wrestling semifinals drew large roars from the Xcel Energy Center crowd more for who didn’t advance than who did.

A pair of No. 1-ranked wrestlers from Apple Valley – eighth-grader Mason Manville at 152 pounds and junior Daniel Woiwor at 183 – will have to settle for third place at best.

Manville, a national champion on the USA youth wrestling circuit, fell to Tartan’s TJ Ohara in the semifinals. It means there will be some new colors at the top of the podium at 152 for the first time in three years after Eagles’ graduate Destin McCauley’s lock-tight hold on the weight to cap out his high school career.

Ohara moves on to face Rosemount’s Adam Jackson, who lost to McCauley in last year’s 152 final.

Woiwor, meanwhile, fell 5-3 in overtime to Chase Morlock of Moorhead, who moves on to face Ricky Briggs of St. Michael-Albertville.

Despite those losses, Apple Valley will be well-represented in the finals. Here is the rest of the Class 3A lineup for the Saturday evening finals:

106: Maolu Woiwor, Apple Valley vs. Trevor Westerlund, Albert Lea.

113: Tommy Thorn, St. Michael-Albertville vs. Tanner Johnshoy, Prior Lake. Thorn is going for two in a row.

120: Andy Underhill, Burnsville vs. Seth Gross, Apple Valley.

126: Sam Brancale, Eden Prairie vs. Mitch Bengtson, St. Cloud Apollo. Bengston has a win streak of 179 in a row. He defeated Brancale in last year's quarterfinals.

132: Ben Morgan, Forest Lake vs. Mark Voss, St. Michael-Albertville. Morgan was a state champ as a freshman but has placed third in each of the last two years.

138: Grant Nehring, St. Cloud Apollo vs. Dayton Racer, Apple Valley.

145: Branden Madsen, Stillwater vs. Mark Hall, Apple Valley. With a win, Hall, an eighth-grader, would be on pace to be a six-time state champion.

160: Mitch Rechtzigel, Eastview vs. Brandon Kingsley, Apple Valley. Kingsley is a defending champion.

170: Trey Hable, Albert Lea vs. Kyle Begin, Anoka. Begin is a defending champion.

195: Trae Story, Roseville vs. Tommy Peterson, Lakeville South.

220: Isaac Eichmann, Hastings vs. Michael Burkhardt, Coon Rapids.

285: Gjullian Flemister-King, Champlin Park vs. Bryce DeBoer, Albert Lea.

In other classes:


106: Cameron Sykora of Border West, 103-pound champion last year, will go for his second state title against Kimball’s Mitchell McKee.

113: No. 1-ranked Shane Novak of New York Mills will meet James Goman of Trinity of River Ridge.

120: Mitchel Lexvold of Kenyon-Wanamingo will definitely have earned his title if he beat Mick Roemer of Wabasha-Kellogg in the finals. Ranked No. 1, Lexvold, the 119-pound champ in 2011, will have defeated wrestlers ranked second, fourth and fifth along the way.

126: Oakley McLain of Kenyon-Wanamingo will be shooting for his second state title when he faces Hayden Rouser of Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City.

132: A battle between No. 1 Taner Trembley of Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial and No. 2 Ben Rynda of Trinity.

138: Minneota’s Theodore Bueltel has won back-to-back matches by a single point. He’ll need more good fortune to beat River Valley’s Jacob Anderson, who is ranked No. 4

145: Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City’s Larry Bomstad will put his perfect 42-0 record on the line against No. 2-ranked Adam Cooling of Madelia-Truman/Martin Co. West.

152: Medford’s Curt Maas, a two-time champ, whill shoot for a third state title against Rij Koehnen of Frazee. Maas has not lost to a Minnesota wrestler in more than two years. His only loss this year came to a North Dakota wrestler in January.

160: Another matchup of top-ranked wrestlers when No. 1 Darick Vancura of Jackson County Central squares off against No. 2 Jordan Rothers of Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg.

170: Cooper Moore, the Jackson County Central senior whose 2011 state tournament was cut short after a freak injury caused a concussion, will be trying to remain undefeated against Kimball’s Travis Schiefelbein. Moore beat Schiefelbein 14-5 in the team championship match.

182: Brett Pfarr of Le Sueur-Henderson has scored 46 points in three matches. His offensive skills will be tested against No. 1-ranked Nate Meixell of LCWM, who has given up just four points.

195: Just one loss all season between the two finalists, Sibley East’s Nathan Rose (44-0) and Minneota’s Adam Josephson (42-1)

220: Josh VanOverbeke of Minneota vs. Cody Welch of Wabasso/RedRock Central.

285: Alex Yeager of Badger/Greenbush-Middle River, the defending state champ, has pinned all three of his opponents heading into his match against Dominick Platow of Paynesville


Five-time team champion Simley’s overall strength has shown in the individual tournament as the Spartan will have seven wrestlers shooting for state championships: Kyle Gliva at 113, Juan Torres at 126, Stephan Mincey at 132, Jake Short at 145, Nick Wanzek at 152, Micah Barnes at 170 and Cody Hazelett at 195.

106: No. 1-ranked Brady Berge of Kasson-Mantorville, a seventh-grader, will meet No. 3 Skyler Perry of Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton.

113: Gliva vs. Griffin Parriott of New Prague, who was an upset winner over Jarred Oftedahl of Benilde-St. Margaret’s in the semifinals.

120: Luke Betchwars of Scott West vs. Ty Griffin of Rockford.

126: Torres vs. John Weeding of Dawson-Boyd/Lac Qui Parle.

132: A Classic Suburban Conference matchup between Mincey and undefeated and No. 1-ranked Joey Munos of South St. Paul.

138: Chevy Goble of Foley vs. Coltan Langaniere of Kasson-Mantorville.

145: Short, who needed overtime to get past Gabe Fogarty of Scott West in the semifinals, will face Tim Ostby of MAHACA.

152: Wanzek vs. Becker senior Cory Nelson, who defeated Pat Hopkins of Grand Rapids in three overtimes in the semifinals.

160: John Redepenning of Rockford vs. Sam Haas of Dawson-Boyd/LQP.

170: Barnes, who is undefeated at 43-0, vs. Delano’s Miles Hammerlund.

182: Totino-Grace freshman Lance Benick vs. Jamison Evans of Grand Rapids.

195: Hazelett takes on undefeated (44-0) and No. 1-ranked Broc Berge of Kasson-Mantorville. Berge won the 189-pound championship in 2011.

220: J.D. Struxness of Dawson-Boyd/LQP vs. Joe Schiller of Totino-Grace.

285: Scott West’s Michael Kroells, No. 1-ranked and undefeated (44-0) faces defending champion Austin Goergen of Caledonia/Houston. 

Related Stories

Tag(s): All Articles  Star Tribune  Around the State  Hub Exclusive