skip navigation
Home All Articles More Extended Footer Search Results

Eden Prairie hires ex-Owatonna wrestling coach Scot Davis

06/04/2013, 5:22pm CDT
By Jim Paulsen, Star Tribune

Davis has a career record of 996-160-4, set over 35 years at five schools.


Wrestling coach Scot Davis, the national record holder for most victories by a high-school coach, has accepted the job to head the Eden Prairie wrestling program next year.

Davis has a career record of 996-160-4, set over 35 years at five schools. He won the majority of his matches at Owatonna, where he was head coach from 1986 through 2011, guiding the Huskies to Class 3A state championships in 1998 and 2005.

Davis resigned following the 2010-2011 season and was subsequently suspended by the MSHSL from coaching in Minnesota for one year amid allegations of recruiting. Davis coached last year in Kalispell, Montana.

“There are great people out there [in Kalispell]. I feel bad for them because we were putting things together,” Davis told Kyle Stevens of the Owatonna Peoples Press. “But, for my family, I had to do this. It was for the best for them. It was a family-first decision.”

Sister act on the track

Minnehaha Academy’s Jackie and Ellie Bedingham are sisters separated by six years in age. That gap shrunk significantly, to 0.68 of a second, in Saturday’s Section 4, 1A track and field meet.

Jackie, a senior who will compete in track and field at Wake Forest next year, won the 100- and 200-meter dashes. Ellie, a seventh-grader, finished second in both finals.

Jackie won the 100 in a time of 12.63 seconds, followed by Ellie in a time of 12.91. In the 200, Jackie won in a time of 26.56 with Ellie the runner-up at 26.96.

Since they finished 1-2 in both races, they will get the chance to revive their sisterly rivalry in the Class 1A state meet at Hamline University this weekend.

All-Star softball series

Twelve seniors from the west metro have been invited to play in the 25th Annual Minnesota High School All-Star Girls’ Softball Series.

They are Sophie Pratt, Minneapolis Washburn; Kate Emmer, Delano; Ashley Dick, Rockford; Emily Bauer, Holy Family; Samantha Hartmann, Orono; Abby Bunnell and Taylor Bratten, Maple Grove, Hannah Evavold, Bloomington Jefferson; Sam Heskin, St. Michael-Albertville; Ashley Clapp, Eden Prairie, Abbie Voas, Chanhassen and Kaley DeCou, Chaska.

In all, 72 Minnesota seniors are selected. They are divided into six teams that play two games each on June 9 at Caswell Park in North Mankato, also the home of this week’s state high school tournament.


Jim Paulsen • 612-673-7737

Related Stories

Tag(s): All Articles  Star Tribune  Hub Exclusive