skip navigation

Totino-Grace wrestler Jake Svihel finally wins state title as a senior

By Jack Warrick and Jim Paulsen, Star Tribune staff writers, 03/02/19, 10:45PM CST


The Eagles senior, competing at 126 pounds, was a three-time state runner up before Saturday afternoon. Plus other news and notes from Class 2A and 1A.

Jake Svihel of Totino-Grace defeated Mitchel Petersen of Byron in the Class 2A 126-pound weight class. [Shari L. Gross - Star Tribune]

It took Jake Svihel four tries, but in his final high school wrestling match he went out as an individual state champ.

Svihel, a 126-pound Totino-Grace senior, was a three-time state runner up before Saturday afternoon. Now he is a champion, after defeating childhood friend Mitchel Petersen in a rematch from last season’s 120-pound title match.

“It feels so good. My entire high school career ... I came up short three times, and it just feels really amazing to finally get that,” Svihel said after winning the title match over Petersen, a junior from Byron. “This year kind of my mind-set was just take everything a lot easier, have fun with everything, be a lot more lighthearted and it worked out.”

Related Stories

Class 2A state champions

106: Mason Gehloff, Waseca
113: Joey Thompson, Totino-Grace
120: Chase DeBlaere, Simley
126: Jake Svihel, Totino-Grace
132: Ryan Sokol, Simley
138: Tyler Shackle, Scott West
145: Carlos Ruffo, Kasson-Mantorville
152: Tim Stapleton, Waconia
160: Bennett Berge, Kasson-Mantorville
170: Isaiah Thompson, Detroit Lakes
182: Patrick Kennedy, Kasson-Mantorville
195: Ty Moser, Perham
220: Danny Striggow, Orono
285: Daniel Kerkvliet, Simley

Class 1A state champions

106: Drayden Morton, Sibley East
113: Charley Elwood, Medford
120: Jeron Matson, Kenyon-Wanamingo
126: Brett Willaby, Windom/Mt. Lake Area
132: Jackson Hale, Grand Meadow/
138: Mark Buringa, St. Charles
145: Kyle Cavanaugh, Caledonia/Houston
152: Seth Brossard, Kenyon-Wanamingo
160: Tyler Ryan, Kenyon-Wanamingo
170: Tyson Meyer, Minnewaska Area
182: Jaden Kindopp, Canby
195: Michael Nelson, Dover-Eyota
220: Dominik Vacura, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River
285: Craig Orlando, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie