skip navigation

One wrestler becomes a four-time champ, another is stopped at three

By THEO FRANZ, Star Tribune, 03/02/24, 11:15PM CST


Becker's Kaden Nicolas defeated Mound Westonka's Jack Nelson, but Jackson County Central's Nolan Ambrose knocked off No. 1 Gavin Johnson of Kenyon-Wanamingo.

Becker's Kaden Nicolas had lost to Jack Nelson in 2023. Jackson County Central's Nolan Ambrose defeated top-ranked Gavin Johnson of Kenyon-Wanamingo.

Totino-Grace senior 215-pounder Cy Kruse became the first wrestler in state history to record 50 or more pins in a season when he pinned Caleb Johnson of Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton at 1:53 in the Class 2A championship match.

Click here to read this story on 

Wrestling Hub Headlines

  • Hall of Fame reveals award-winners, new members

  • By JOEL RIPPEL, Star Tribune 05/08/2024, 1:30pm CDT
  • Alex Braun of Woodbury and Lanna Walter of Sauk Centre/Melrose were named wrestlers of the year, and Dan Engebretson and Marty Morgan from the Mounds View coaching staff were honored.
  • Read More